February Empties & Throwaways

Wow, it’s the second week of March already! I was actually planning to do an empties post in January, but it’s taken me quite a while to publish this post. I get easily distracted and have a hard time sticking to the same product, so it was a while before I was able to get through a couple of products I wanted to include. Oops.

IMG_0861b

Empties

Glossier Milky Jelly Cleanser, 6 oz/177 ml

After running out of this, I’ve found that I actually miss it more than I thought I would. This is very gentle and I love using this as a second cleanse, or as my only one on mornings and days where I’m lazy and don’t have much makeup on. The rose scent is a plus for me. I also like the texture, and how the creamy gel is almost bouncy (I know not everyone is a fan of it, though). More details on this here in my huge Glossier post. I will likely repurchase this at some point.

I purchased this from Glossier for $18.

Pixi Glow Tonic, 3.4 oz/100 ml

This contains 5% glycolic acid and is a mild exfoliating toner. I got this as I’ve heard a lot of good things about it and wanted to try it for myself. I liked it enough while I was using it and it was effective, but I’m not a fan of the strong, perfume-y scent and my skin can tolerate a stronger AHA so I won’t be repurchasing this. I also feel like this is overpriced for the amount you get. I believe the 8.5 oz/250 ml size retails for $29.

I purchased this from Target for $15, but it’s available from many retailers.

Etude House Moistfull Collagen Sleeping Pack, 3.38 oz/100 ml

I’ve had this one lying around forever! I bought this a long time ago when I had no idea what sleeping packs were. I thought you had to apply a super thick layer on your face before going to bed like a regular mask, so for the longest time, sleeping packs were extremely unappealing to me (don’t ask me why I bought this). Because of that, I actually tried to use this as a regular mask to try and use it up… which didn’t do much for my face. After I figured out how sleeping packs worked and used this correctly, I found that this was actually decent! I liked the light, gel-like texture and the scent, but it was nothing exciting though, so I stopped using it again. Now I’ve finally managed to finish it by using it as a body moisturizer, where it did a surprisingly good job. I won’t be repurchasing this though.

I purchased this from Amazon for $11, but it’s available from many retailers.

BareMinerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Hydrating Gel Cream, 1.18 oz/35 ml

I’m not a fan of the BareMinerals brand, nor have I ever tried out anything else from them. I don’t have anything particularly against them- it’s just not an appealing brand to me personally. However I did pick this tinted moisturizer up after hearing a lot of good reviews when it first came out, and I have to say, I agree with them! This gives light coverage and blends in very nicely, with a slightly dewy finish. I find that I prefer to set this with a tiny bit of powder as it stays a little tacky on the skin. This also has SPF 30, although I wouldn’t rely on it for actual UV protection. I may repurchase this at some point. I wear Natural 05, which is a medium-toned, neutral shade.

I purchased this from Sephora for $29.50. However I noticed recently that you can get it on Amazon for as low as $23!

Throwaways

Nature Republic Rose Real Nature Ampoule, 1 oz/30 ml

I already posted about this on Instagram here. This didn’t do much for me in terms of either hydrating or brightening, and is also sticky. I’m tired of it so I’ve decided to finally throw it out. 

I purchased this from a Nature Republic store when it was on sale for around $12. This is available on RoseRoseShop for $8.45.

The Ordinary Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1%, 1 oz/30 ml

This is the second The Ordinary product I’ve tried (first being the Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5), and unfortunately this doesn’t seem to be working out for me. This is supposed to help with blemishes/congestion and balancing sebum activity. I cannot speak to the blemishes part as I don’t get much acne, but I find that this is a bit drying on my oily skin and hasn’t provided much visible benefits in terms of reducing scarring. I still absolutely love The Ordinary’s philosophy and amazing price points though, and I’ve heard that a lot of people like this, so I would recommend trying this out for yourself!

I purchased this from The Ordinary for a whopping $5.90.

Have you tried any of these products? Let me know your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

